Changes to councils in Cumbria

planted: 19/04/2022last tended: 19/04/2022

There's going to be two unitary authorities.

The east of the county will have one authority for Barrow, Eden and South Lakeland, while the west will encompass Allerdale, Carlisle and Copeland.

Cumbria councils to be replaced by two authorities

The two unitary authorities are going to be called Westmorland and Furness and Cumberland. South Lakeland will be in Westmorland and Furness.

Cumbria County Council will go, too.

Opponents of the reorganisation have claimed that the proposal is being pursued to benefit the electoral prospects of the Conservative Party.

Opponents believe the government's decision to create two authorities is aimed at consolidating Conservative power in the north west of the county.

I would have liked the mooted Morecambe Bay Council.

In much of England, a two-tier system involves county councils providing education, social services and waste disposal with district councils responsible for rubbish collection, housing and planning.

In areas governed by unitary authorities there is a single body which provide all local government services.

Cumbria councils to be replaced by two authorities

1. Elsewhere

1.1. In my garden

Notes that link to this note (AKA backlinks).

1.3. Mentions

Recent changes. Source. Peer Production License.